Lilacs & Sycamores

Part Two

When Mara heads to the back again, Jane is standing at the sorting table staring at her. “He was cute, no?” She asks in chirpy voice.

“He was alright.” Mara musters up as she focuses on her next order of flowers.

“Alright? More than alright.” Jane persists tilting her head back and forth studying her bouquet. “You’re so frigid with people.”

“Okay, he has a wife.” Mara rolls her eyes.

“But, you’re frigid with every man.” Jane continues.

“Maybe, I don’t want to get close to anyone. I don’t want to hurt someone, I don’t want to bewitch anyone, I don’t want to curse anyone, I’m not that kind of witch.” Mara mutters methodically filling in the flowers into a vase.

“That is not a ‘kind of witch’, those are things witches do.” Jane huffs out. “And I’d like to learn how to do them, but I can’t if you don’t know how to do them yourself.”

“He has a wife.” Mara repeats shaking her head as if it was an obvious answer to everything.

“He has someone special, that’s a girlfriend. A new girlfriend at that, did you hear the hesitation in his voice.” Jane clears her throat attempting to mimic Everett’s gravely voice. “‘Uh, yeah- someone special’ They probably just started dating!”

“Okay, well, as you know, I‘m not breaking anyone’s relationship up. Regardless of how progressed it is.” Mara says waving her hands dismissively as she walks around collecting flowers for the next order.

“Pick someone single then, it doesn’t have to be him. But, people with one hundred percent human blood don’t honor the sanctity of relationships, why should we? Just because we’re witches doesn’t mean it’s in our blood to cheat, other non-witches do it too.”

“It’s not that I’m a witch. I’m not cheating, because I am not a cheater.” Mara exclaims suddenly.

“Fine.” Jane mumbled trying to defuse the situation before it leads to a lecture.

“And, I know how to do those things. When me and my sister, my real sister, were younger we’d do them all the time. For a while, neither of us did anything too bad and we’d gotten everything we’d ever wanted. Then, one day, there was this girl who was going to prom with her boyfriend. We were teenagers and it was this huge deal to us all, and me and Cara were going to bewitch some boys to go with us. So we cast a spell on this girl’s boyfriend.” Mara pauses and looks completely ashamed. “It- um-  resulted in heartbreak. Actual heartbreak, by bewitching her boyfriend his heart was literally torn in two and he passed away.”

“Oh my God.” Jane gasp.

“Yeah, we murdered someone and I vowed to not ever do it again and so did Cara. But, she got over it. Which is why she’s out living her life and I limit my magic to flowers. Honestly, I was seventeen at the time and it was eight years ago, I should let it go too. ” Mara sighs. “My sister, you’d like her. She’s sassy.”

“She always sounded so devious.” Jane offers understanding that Mara wants to change the subject.

“She’s something else, we used to sing ‘Poor Unfortunate Souls’ together when casting spells.” Mara laughs at the memory. “We would say the dumbest quotes, like ‘Revenge, the sweetest morsel to the mouth that ever was cooked in Hell’ and we’d go on and on like that.”

“Awww, it sounds like you two were really close.” Jane muses.

“Yeah, we were terrible.” Mara nods.

Word Count: 596

Leave a Reply

