The Sun and the Moon

Part 5

The king was raging again, currently she could hear him telling some servant off through the wall. Arabella stood and approached the seal of the doorway. “I’m going to go out for a walk.”

“Fine! No one needs you here anyway!” The King screams, it wasn’t entirely random when he’d get into those moods. Erik would complain of ringing ears, headaches, and chills; later, the King would arrive.

There was something different about the air, it was more pleasant than anything. Arabella found herself thinking about her past for the first time in a long time. Her pace picked up when her mind wandered to Garrett. After a moment, it became evident that she couldn’t quite recall every feature of Garrett and what he looked like.

Arabella was surprised to see that she’d ended up at the outskirts of the claimed kingdom, right in front of heavy woods. She thought for a moment about what to do before deciding that she’d go beyond the first tree and lay there until she either starved or froze to death.

Arabella slowly lowered herself down and continued to think about what her lover looked like. She closed her eyes and fell deep into thought.

She lay there for what must have been hours before she heard rustling. It occurred to her that she wasn’t decently dressed, clad in a golden corset with a white tail coming from the front and the back, with beige stockings and brown boots. She covered herself with her house coat, peering into the woods.

“Who’s there?” There was a long silence, then some more rustling but no response.

“I am the queen of this territory, lay a finger on me and the king will have your heads. Now, show yourselves.” There was again no response, all she heard was the echo of her own voice. Maybe it was an animal, her mind raced and you’re scaring the poor thi-.

At that moment, a man appeared from around a nearby tree. He had dirty blonde hair, tan skin, and clear blue eyes, sort of shaped like upside down crescent moons. He was wearing tall black boots, with vibrant navy blue pants, a gray coat, and black leather gloves. Around his waist there were multiple tools, daggers and hooks, hanging from black rope.

“Ara-bel-la.” The man sighed out crouching down to get faced to face with her. And it all came rushing back to the woman, she felt her breath catch in her throat.

“Garrett.” She gasped and pushed herself against the tree.

“My queen.” Garrett folds his arms and sitting back he gives a small smile.

“How are you here? Is this another hallucination? Are you here to tell me not to kill myself?” She shakes her head in disbelief.

“I could care less what you do, so long as you don’t stand in my way of taking this territory.” Garrett looks off just past Arabella.

“Garrett… Are you angry with me? Have you lost interest in me?” Arabella feels her heart beat slow but the thuds seem to get more intense.

Garrett looks up at her through narrowed eyes. “Why do you care?” He tilts his head to the side in questioning gesture.

“Garrett you mean the world to me, is it that so hard to believe? Something that’s incomprehensible is the fact that you’re still alive and that you have returned here.”

“I returned here because my heart cannot survive without yours and despite every effort to move on destiny has brought me back here.” Garrett explains fiddling with a leaf.

“Destiny?” Arabella inquires.

“Killing the Ki- your husband.” Garrett mutters. “The one who has clothed you, housed you, provided for you, taken care of you for years…” He then lets himself fall onto his back, staring into the sky and noticing the sun and the moon were both visible.

“And then?”

“And then, nothing.”

“I still love you… and if you’ll have me then I- I would like to follow you wherever you go.” Arabella says quietly and Garrett shoots up, staring at her blankly.

“What?” He whispers.

“I want to follow you?” Arabella says hesitantly.

“Before that.” Garrett nods.

“I still love you?” Arabella guesses.

“Yes, say it again.” He nods again narrowing his eyes.

“I love you.” She bites her lip nervously.

“Again.” Garrett smiles.

“l love you!” Arabella laughs uncomfortably and tosses some grass in his direction.

“After all of these years, I’d never thought that I’d hear that again.” Garrett shakes his head. “I love you too, Arabella, my darling…” Garrett’s smile slides into a grin.

Arabella wraps her arms around the man and she feels something slide down her cheek. When she pulls away she realizes that it’s a tear, then more tears begin to flow. She realizes that she hasn’t cried in ten years and somehow she can’t hold it back anymore. The woman leans into the man and nuzzled her head into his chest inhaling deeply. Arabella begins to sob and her body trembles.

“You’re alright, I’ve got you… I’ve got you.” Garrett pats her back and rocks her back and forth.

Inspired by:

You Could be Happy” – Snow Patrol

Chasing Cars” – Snow Patrol

Word Count: 868

Leave a Reply

